top of page

See Paris and Die



“I love Paris in the autumn when it drizzles” kept repeating in my mind as I huddled in the shelter of Alèsia station, protected from the deluge that gave no signs of abating. Commuters jostled past me, oblivious to my plight as I tried to read the now sodden map.

‘Stuff it!’ I said to no one in particular.

I dragged my suitcase to the ticket sellers window and asked directions, while I pointed to a street on the map. She averted her gaze and slammed the ticket window shut.

‘Bloody charming! Welcome to Paris,’ I mouthed to the window.

I trudged down the ramp, getting soaked to the bone in the process and scanned the street for a taxi. By now the rain was a solid wall and I could barely see beyond a metre. I must have looked like a drowned waif because a man wheeling a bicycle stopped in front of me and offered to help.

‘Where do you need to go?’ he said in good English.

I waved the sodden map at him and pointed to the street where I’d booked accommodation on Air B&B.

‘It’s not far, but better to take a taxi,’ he said then looked around at the empty rank. ‘I’ll call one for you.’

He waited until it arrived, explained to the driver where I needed to go, then took his leave with a smile and a wave.

Warmed by his gallant act, I started to feel better about my decision to come to Paris.


So starts the adventures of Seanna Rydel ... more to come

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page