top of page

"time, gentlemen" - a letter to my aunt



I remember the walk you and I took in the Woods of Powell River, nearly thirty years ago –

              We didn’t need to talk; we just drank it in – kindred spirits

               And the photo of the two of us – so alike


I will remember our chats –

               You told me your stories and shared your life with me


You loved to bake banana muffins – me too

               We also shared a love for knitting

But, most importantly, we both loved to swim


Recently you told me you were getting lazy –

When I asked why, you said:

"Last year I swam in the ocean 80 times

and this year I only swam 52 times"

Not bad for an nonagenarian


You frequently asked me my age –

               When I said 39, you said it made you feel young

               And we had a laugh. We always had a laugh


Thank you for calling me every year to wish me happy birthday

Thank you for always ending our calls with “I love you”

Thank you for being someone I admired


I will miss our chats –

When we last spoke on that last Friday

               You recalled the first time you saw me, when I came to Malta

               I was 4 years old,

and you could still describe the coat I was wearing


I said my last Goodbye to you, Aunt Vera –

               And I cried when you said, “Time, Gentlemen”.


Love always,

Your niece, Cecile.

Commentaires


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page